LA Knockers's Blog

Los Angeles dancers

Jennifer Stace

with 2 comments

Jennifer

August 6, 2010

Jennifer writes:

In 1987 I moved to Baja, not to retire but to start the next facet of my life. I wanted to read, write and think – things I’d neglected for years. I wrote a memoir, The Philosopher’s Daughter, as a tribute to my son, Michael, who died in 1994, and I hope to get it published next year. And now after writing about my life, I felt the urge to swing across the dance floor again. I’d been doing yoga, but dancing brings music to the spirit and laughter to the soul, energies I’d sorely missed. Today I’m teaching retirees how to do hook turns, ripples, swing their hips while whaacking their arms to Latin Rhythms.  They love it and I love them. Thanks everyone for the joyous times we shared.

Read a write-up about Jennifer (click on it to enlarge)

Baja Times

Final comments from Jennifer:

It wasn’t just a twist of fate that brought all these beautiful dancers together. It was a sense of the unusual, the joy of laughter, and rebelliousness in their characters.  The LA Knockers created a pocket of special-ness that lasted for years. Across Los Angeles to Texas and up to Canada and over the sea to Japan, we entertained audiences everywhere, getting fired even retired, but we never gave way to the mundane. We reveled in our eccentricities. It was a privilege to work with these amazing women and to create with and for them a spot in the world of funk, a kookiness, into a theater of the bizarre. We found a wonder in life and created hilarity instead of straight up and down entertainment. When I look back I’m filled with awe at what we accomplished. It shines on every page of our blog that Elisa Leonelli, who believed in us from the start, created. We see ourselves dancing in videos from edited versions of our shows created by our own, Ms Marilyn Corwin. Thank all of you for your phenomenal contributions to the L A. Knockers. It was a time in my life I’ll always treasure.

Written by laknockers

June 24, 2010 at 12:49 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. During Jennifer’s going away/”I am leaving” Hollywood margarita party in the mid 80’s at Lucy’s El Adobe she casually asked where was a good place for her and her partner Robert D’amore (a fantastic photographer) to park their Airstream for the first leg of their retirement tour. Since my family had been going down to La Mision, a small town in Baja since the 60’s I suggested that they stop in for a visit. They pulled up in the small valley overlooking the Pacific and never left.
    Jennifer and I still dance and talk about dance. We see each other 2-3 times a year and talk on the phone constantly comparing notes on new music we have heard and recipes. We still have been known to listen to Parliament. The other day she whirled me around her living room. Well not exactly whirled. More like slowly glided. She was trying to teach me how to finesse my partner dancing connections. I am forever grateful to Jennifer.

    Kimberlee

    August 3, 2010 at 2:53 pm

  2. June 22
    I live in Baja, fifty miles south of the border, on a ranch with two horses, two ducks, fifteen chickens, two roosters and five dogs. I am up at the crack of dawn and to bed before the sun goes down; in the afternoons I go outside to feed my critters.
    Recently I started teaching Latin Dance Rhythms to happy retirees. Yesterday Yana came and assisted me, she mesmerized my students. it was great fun, times relived!
    July 10
    Kimberlee lives and teaches dance in Montana; she has just been here at my house for the past four days and she assisted my dance class. I am in touch with Becky in L.A. and with Marilyn, who looks wonderful and is a trooper!
    July 29
    I love Baja. I am pretty much cut off from all my old pals, but Yana has a house next to me and Kimberlee tries to come and visit often. And I’m dancing up a storm, downloading music and making playlists; this iTunes thing is a god send.

    Jennifer

    August 7, 2010 at 4:11 pm


Leave a Reply

