LA Knockers's Blog

Los Angeles dancers

Kim Blank

with 8 comments

Kim

August 3, 2010
Kim wrote (August 17)
My first performance with Jennifer Stace and The L.A. Knockers was in 1975.  I was introduced by Joan Wulfsohn, it was during the period when Jennifer and Joan were both teaching at Dupree Dance Academy on 3rd St. in L.A.  Between then and sometime in the mid-80’s I had the chance to perform with the group in various clubs and venues in L.A., and to travel to Salt Lake City, Las Vegas, El Toro Marine Base, and Tokyo, Japan.  Beginning with a New Year’s Eve performance for the dawning of the 1980’s, we had a regular gig working  at the venerable El Cid of Silver Lake (we alternated with the Flamenco show, performing for the locals, as well as Japanese tourists.)  Along the way I had the opportunity to test my skills as a dancer/performer and choreographer, and assume some wild and outrageous costumes and identities while I was still searching for my own.  It was fun, tough, crazy, eye-opening, and amazing!!!  I made friends lifelong friends in the process.
A few months ago I attended a concert that featured three acts, dominated by women; I was transported back to my days with the L.A. Knockers, by the music, the apparel, the wigs, the attitudes, the raw energy, and style.  I didn’t want to say, to my young friends, “been there, done, that…”  but yeah…kinda had been!
So thanks for this fabulous layout Elisa!!!  Thank you for documenting us so aptly and beautifully, back then, and and thank you for bringing it all up to date for us now.  All my love to my fellow Knockers.  Thank you Jennifer, for giving us an opportunity to work, develop and be creative!!!

I currently teach a full schedule of dance and fitness classes in L.A., and work doing  choreography for film, television, and commercials. kimblank.com

Written by laknockers

June 24, 2010 at 2:22 pm

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. July 5
    Kim today is a highly acclaimed teacher, choreographer and dancer. She was in Michael Jackson’s Thriller video… she has done very well in the dance world.

    Jennifer

    July 5, 2010 at 3:53 pm

  2. July 10
    Working all weekend, but will try to do something in the next few days. thanks again Elisa! xo

    Kim Blank

    July 10, 2010 at 3:53 pm

  3. July 12
    Dear Elisa,
    I am just catching up with e-mails from the weekend, had not had a chance to check in with the blog …will respond more, soon.

    kim Blank

    July 12, 2010 at 12:46 pm

  4. Aug 3
    Dear Kim:

    I decided to create a temporary page for you, rather than leaving you out.
    You were such an important part of the L.A. Knockers!
    We can change the text with anything you’d like to write, when you find the time.
    love
    Elisa

    Elisa

    August 3, 2010 at 3:55 pm

  5. August 3
    Thank you Elisa.
    I’m so sorry, I’ve just finished with a project that usurped all energy and time. Back to my usual schedule of classes and was just thinking this morning, that I can finally respond! k.

    Kim

    August 14, 2010 at 2:29 pm

  6. August 3
    We’re all looking forward to hear your memories about the L.A. Knockers,
    Love
    Elisa

    Elisa

    August 14, 2010 at 2:29 pm

  7. Aug 14
    Oh Elisa thank you for your persistence and your patience!
    Promise to make my contribution by Monday night!
    Have not had a chance to see the latest post. Love K

    Kim Blank

    August 17, 2010 at 12:46 pm

  8. August 16
    Hey Elisa,
    I think I just posted my comments about my time with the group.
    Thank you again for the wonderful work. It’s great to see everyone!!! xox Kim

    Kim Blank

    August 17, 2010 at 1:11 pm


Leave a Reply

