LA Knockers's Blog

Los Angeles dancers

Marilyn Corwin

with 2 comments

Marilyn

July 28, 2010

Marilyn sent us these thoughts

I always felt like was a little too funky to  fit in with my blonde hair blue-eyed California girl image… it wasn’t until I experienced Jennifer teaching her creative, outrageously funky dance moves and fun combinations to James Brown, Rufus and soul tunes that I found my calling. Her students resembled a mix of sorority girls, from Chicago to Beverly Hills.   I noticed a blonde blue-eyed ice skater, Natalie, doing these robot and locking moves alongside a girl I thought I had watched  on Soul Train, Lissa. Yana was a tall athletic blonde, striking and  unusual.  Adding to the eclectic mix of beauties was Denice, a curly-haired dancer from UCLA, perhaps a princess type but certainly not in attitude.  It was so exciting watching these white Girls get down and funky in their striped knee socks, knickers pants, sport tops and hats.  I thought “I want to do that.” Jennifer’s class was a blast!  Her work always left room for individual self expression. What a great fit!  After class Jennifer approached me and asked if I was interested in joining her company.
From Tokyo to Las Vegas, with Dick Clark and Frank Zappa, the L A Knockers have been turning heads  and raising eyebrows, in films, commercials, on stage  and television, since the mid seventies, with their unmistakable trend-setting rule-breaking fashion styles.

Were we chicks and babes?  Never!  Strong women and individuals?  Always! We ARE the L A Knockers!

Read about Marilyn’s credits as an actress, dancer and choreographer in her IMDB biography.

Written by laknockers

June 24, 2010 at 6:00 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. …. I did Go Go dance to my favorite funk tunes, like Wilson Pickett’s “Land of a Thousand Dances,” in a cage opposite actress Barbara Hershey during our Hollywood High School social events.
    A family friend also recruited me to join the Young Saints, who performed gospel Big band and funk music for stage and television.

    Marilyn

    July 29, 2010 at 2:05 am

  2. Ms Marilyn… fulfilled our dreams and rounded out our expression as the blond chickee that could wiggle and dance and really get down!… she helped make each one of us look good, creating our fashions and turning us into dancers in groovely crafted attire. I will never be able to thank Marilyn enough for her expression and know-how… thank you Marilyn, with love and gratitude, jennifer

    Jennifer Stace

    July 29, 2010 at 3:11 am


Leave a Reply

