LA Knockers's Blog

Los Angeles dancers

L. A. Knockers Japan

with 7 comments

Japan postcard

July 15, 2010

The LA Knockers performed in Japan for 3 years in a row (1980, 1981, 1982), at the Latin Quarter club in Tokyo, and became very popular.  Here are 2 postcards we found, thanks to DeeDee, about their last engagement in October 1982.

Jennifer remembers: “We were booked in Japan for six weeks over a three year period. What a treat. We had a magnificent stage at the Latin Quarter in Akasaka, fabulous lighting and great audiences. The Japanese men were crazy about us, big goofey girls, and they understood our comedy. We stayed in darling tiny rooms at the Akasaka Hotel and were showered with huge bouquets of exotic flowers.  Those photos from the postcards hung on the wall of the Latin Quarter advertising our show. It was trippy!  It was a sensational booking!  We fell in love with the country and the people.” read more under comments…

Some of the regular dancers were not able to travel.  DeeDee wrote to us about her very good reason to stay home: she had been cast as Sally Bowles in CABARET!  Jennifer was very understanding and sent her these postcards, that she framed.  Read her amusing story under comments.

Japan postcard

Written by laknockers

June 25, 2010 at 1:48 pm

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. excerpt from “The Philosopher’s Daughter”

    We received a booking to dance at the New Latin Quarter in the Akasaka district, in Tokyo, the best nightclub in Japan.
    The Japanese audiences loved us. We were treated like royalty and presented with huge bouquets of flowers night after night. I could barely squeeze into my room with so many flower arrangements on my vanity.
    We were televised for NHK, their major TV network and bombarded by press and signed to do several commercials

    Jennifer

    July 14, 2010 at 2:13 pm

  2. I choreographed a number with the Knockers and Hiromi-Go, who was their imitation of Elvis. Marci got his kiss and it hit all the papers.
    In our last year, 1982, we were flown to Haikido, a northern island. Where we toured the area in Duke Ellington’s red velvet bus, dined with the Mafia and were treated like princesses and me like a Queen. Devouring exquisitely fresh sushi, noodles of all varieties, bird’s nest, soup, tiny curly shells with little snails inside, you ate raw. 

    Jennifer

    July 15, 2010 at 2:02 pm

  3. Jennifer:
    You said many of the dancers in the photographs didn’t end up going to Japan after all, what happened?
    Love
    Elisa

    Elisa

    July 15, 2010 at 2:03 pm

  4. The other girls, my regulars, were burned out and decided not to go. It was a great disappointment, but I had the booking. I auditioned new dancers, and with the help of Kim and Suzi, who danced with us at El Cid, we pulled it together. The new girls were great, but they were not the regulars.
    In 1980 and 1981 we performed at the Latin Quarter as well, but it seems that by 1982 we’d become special and well known in Japan, so they extended themselves and our booking to eight weeks, I believe.

    Jennifer

    July 15, 2010 at 2:03 pm

  5. You know I would love to write to you about Japan and I could make up a real good story, but the truth is… I never went.
    Just before we were scheduled to go I got the lead role in ‘Cabaret’, you know the Liza Minnelli part, Sally Bowles. It was a great theater with really good pay and I couldn’t refuse it as it was a dream come true for me. I had always wanted to play that role. It turned out to be a wonderful opportunity for me as I became “Sally” in every production of Cabaret up and down the West Coast for years after that.
    But, yes I did miss the golden opportunity of going to Japan with the Knockers. I was devastated to have to make such a decision. Making matters worse it all happened very last minute. I remember calling Jennifer near tears not knowing what to do and not wanting to leave her in a pickle. She couldn’t have been more understanding and she took it all in stride. She told me to “go get um” and she replaced me, of course, without much difficulty. There was always a waiting line of Knockers and wanna be Knockers. And what an opportunity to go to Japan!
    I may not have been there, but I was on every billboard from Tokyo to Kawasaki!
    In fact, behind one of the postcard that Jennifer sent me from the Latin Quarter in Tokyo, dated Oct 1982, she says the following:
    Dearest DeeDee,
    Well, you almost made it – your photo is out front and we all look and wave. Hope you’re well! We open tonight, Swan Lake is a smash- should get a lot of attention. Hope Cabaret is going well…

    Dee Dee

    July 15, 2010 at 2:05 pm

  6. This is all so awesome, I’m actually sitting here having some tears with my coffee. Thanks Elisa for doing all this, it’s truly a gift.
    oxox
    DeeDee

    Dee Dee

    July 16, 2010 at 9:09 pm

  7. Thank YOU for all your wonderful contributions!!
    You’re funny and have a great spirit.

    Elisa

    July 16, 2010 at 9:12 pm


Leave a Reply

