LA Knockers's Blog

Los Angeles dancers

L.A. Knockers Downtown

with 7 comments

Dee Dee, Liz, Kimberlee, Jennifer

Jennifer, Kimberly, Liz, Dee Dee

July 9, 2010

On March 30, 1984, 100 photographers documented the city for the book “24 Hours in the Life of Los Angeles”.  I was one of them and asked the L.A. Knockers if they would pose for me downtown.  Jennifer graciously consented, so here they are, dancing at the Downtown L.A. Cafe (Dee Dee Rescher, Liz Brody, Kimberlee Carlson, Jennifer Stace) and in front of City Hall.
By the way, we’d like to find Liz Brody.  She’s from New York, does anyone know how to contact her?

I wrote an article about this event for the ASMP newsletter (American Society of Magazine Photographers) and a personal account of my experience, this is what I said about the L.A. Knockers.
“This all girls dance group invented and choreographed by Jennifer Stace has been performing in Los Angeles for the last 10 years, always funky and outrageous and constantly avant-garde.
“First we photographed Jennifer, Dee Dee, Liz and Kimberly in their blue outfits in front of the blue and grey sign for the Downtown L.A. Cafe, the artists’ hangout created by Debbie Stone.  Then we walked to the Los Angeles Mall where the L.A. Knockers performed for a bunch of passing-by school children in front of the L.A. Courthouse. Then they pose for us in front of one of the oldest downtown L.A. landmarks: City Hall.”

Dee Dee, Liz, Kimberlee, Elisa, Jennifer

And here’s a self-portrait of your truly, Elisa Leonelli, the photographer, striking a pose with the dancing girls.

It’s been really fun and exciting to create this blog, with the help of Jennifer and the “girls”, all of us still around and involved in various creative endeavours: dancing, teaching, choreographing, acting, writing books, making sauce…

Thanks everyone!!!

Next stay tuned for individual pages.  Please send us your memories and comments, tell us what you’re up to now!

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I do remember being downtown and our outfits (blue) and you…
    I remember that day very well… we did a lot of self promotion…. wow!
    What a riot!

    Jennifer

    July 10, 2010 at 8:54 am

  2. I don’t know the name of the girl between you and Dee Dee.

    Elisa

    July 10, 2010 at 9:53 am

  3. That is Liz Brody, a gal from NYC and she was new in the group. A Harvard graduate, very cute girl and dancer. She was working at the time for Oprah in her magazine section, and in time I lost track of her. She’s a first class girl…I always thought I’d like to find her.

    Jennifer

    July 10, 2010 at 10:53 am

  4. OMG again! HA! This is amazing.
    Just zoomed through the blog and it’s just fantastic!
    I had forgotten how amazing your photos were, really gorgeous.
    I will have to really go through it later when I have more time and click all the links to the U Tube videos etc.
    This is very exciting and very touching.
    I applaud you for doing this! What a great tribute to Jen and to all the girls. AND to your amazing work!

    Dee Dee

    July 10, 2010 at 2:28 pm

  5. Dear Elisa
    I just looked through from top to bottom. You have done an incredible job!
    You should be proud, I knew I chose right when I chose you or we chose each other, didn’t we…
    The site is remarkable, and even the neat video that I love edited by Marilyn is in there, she really captures the moment! And Joan’s book…
    I am filled with wonder at what you’ve done.
    Again thank you, thank you, thank you, and I’m sure all the girls are grateful for this amazing vision of their past.
    love, jennifer

    Jennifer

    July 10, 2010 at 2:39 pm

  6. Re: Elisa in 1984
    is that cute or what! I hope you put it in our blog… you with us!

    Jennifer

    July 12, 2010 at 12:42 am

  7. I am speechless, Thank you Elisa for bringing such a poignant and unforgettable part of our lives back to us. This is an amazing and heart filling tribute.

    Dee Dee

    July 12, 2010 at 3:55 am


Leave a Reply

