LA Knockers's Blog

Los Angeles dancers

L. A. Knockers add guitars

with 4 comments

Jennifer, Becky, Kimberlee

July 4, 2010

After that first photo session, I became the LA Knockers “official” photographer.  That is, when they needed photographs, I would take them in my studio.  By then I had rented a storefront space at 6340 Yucca, close to my apartment on Beachwood Drive.

In March 1977, I took black and white head-shots of the 3 dancers: Jennifer, Marilyn and Yana.  In November 1977, Jennifer needed a group shot with their guitar players, Arnold Schoonover and Phillip Truescroff, and the new dancers: Becky Jordan and Kimberlee Carlson.  Here’s a color slide from that session, which was mostly in B&W.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thank you Elisa!  
    Wow-that was way back when!
    xoxo
    Yana

    Yana

    July 10, 2010 at 2:47 pm

  2. these are so cool… funny and wonderful, thank you.
    we look adorable… love it… Elisa… love, jennifer

    Jennifer

    July 11, 2010 at 8:15 pm

  3. Its nice to see something out there that shows my uncle, Arnold Schoonover. He passed away a little over a year ago primarily unnoticed. He had a big heart and all he wanted was to let his music be heard. I for one miss him. And all the girls and the band were an inspiration in my life though I was only privilege in the last years of the everlasting movement of the L.A. Knockers. Long live you!
    Frank.

    Frank Lockwood

    September 16, 2013 at 3:02 am

    • Hi Frankie… Thanks for letting us know of Arnold’s passing. I’m sorry to hear. Just yesterday I wondered how he was doing. Life takes us here and there so quickly and then we’re gone. Your uncle was a special guy, a wonderful friend, fine musician and singer and I for one cherished his input into our movement as you so gracefully call it. It was a movement. God Bless!

      laknocker-Jennifer Stace

      September 16, 2013 at 1:15 pm


Leave a Reply

