LA Knockers's Blog

Los Angeles dancers

L. A. Knockers first photo session

with 3 comments

Yana, Jennifer, Marilyn

June 24, 2010

I first saw the LA Knockers perform live at the Starwood in 1976, and I was – literally – knocked out by their exciting dance energy.

So I immediately asked Jennifer if we could do a photo sessions, because I had just started working as a photo-journalist and I was contributing to the theater section of the Italian magazines TEMPO and ESPRESSO. They wanted me to send photographs and text about visually interesting and risqué performers.

I didn’t even have a studio yet at the time, so a borrowed the space from my photographer friend Ave Pildas, and we did various set-ups for the layout: red tutus against a huge dark grey backdrop, white leotards against white, black costumes on red, also, in an outdoor location by the fire-escape, a cheerleaders theme, with football helmet and pom-pons.

Jennifer, Marilyn, Yana

Jennifer, Marilyn, Yana

Yana, Jennifer, Marilyn

Jennifer, Marilyn and Yana even posed for me in the costumes for their movie CINDERELLA, as the stepmother and stepsisters Marbella and Drucella.

We want to know if you’re checking us out, log on to our blog, so leave a comment with your email and we’ll send you the Cinderella photo!

Written by laknockers

July 3, 2010 at 11:07 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. testing comments, we’re on our way!

    Elisa

    June 24, 2010 at 11:10 pm

  2. When the L A Knockers first started performing, we didn’t have a name. It was just me and Lissa Kastin and a student of mine named, Nancy; I don’t remember her last name. We originally were invited to perform at Convalescent Homes. We were just doing this kookie dancing that I learned from watching Soul Train. It attracted attention and was funny and people loved it and us. We dressed in knickers and caps, wearing high wedgie sneakers and knee pads, real funky and quirky. Slowly other accomplished dancers joined my classes and started learning how to do this funky choreography. Joan Wulfsohn, my ballet teacher studied with me. She introduced one of her top students, Yana Nirvana to my class. Marilyn Corwin began to study the style with me at a studio in Venice. We moved to Dupree’s Dance Academy, “the studio of the stars” and started taking ourselves seriously. At the time The Lockers were the dancing sensation around L A. We followed them to clubs and imitated them. We were white girls; they were African American Men…  And Yana thought up our name, The L. A. Knockers… and off we went…

    Jennifer

    July 5, 2010 at 4:10 pm

  3. I met Marilyn in Paris years ago when I auditioned for a film. We were 4 pom pom girls who had loads of fun. She later came to stay with me but we lost touch.

    alicealech

    August 29, 2015 at 8:09 pm


Leave a Reply

