LA Knockers's Blog

Los Angeles dancers

L. A. Knockers

with 11 comments

LA Knockers: Marilyn, Jennifer, Yana

June 22, 2010

Miracles of the Internet age!

Yesterday, I searched Google for LA Knockers and found 4 wonderful videos on You Tube, of this amazing dance group, lovingly edited by Marilyn Corwin, the curly hair blond bombshell I fondly remember.

I logged on to Facebook and found her email, I wrote her a message and she CALLED ME!

Not only that, but she put me in touch with LA Knockers creator and choreographer, my old friend Jennifer Stace.  She is now living in Baja California, close to the other stunning dancer, Yana Nirvana!

I used to photograph these wonderful girls in all kinds of fantastic attires and dance poses, when I was a photo-journalist living in Hollywood, starting from 1976 until 1984.

I will now edit all these images, select my favorites and post them on this blog.

I hope lots of old and new fans will find this and leave their comments.

Thanks!

Elisa Leonelli, photographer (see About LA Knockers page for more info)

And now enjoy the first LA Knockers video (more to come as  you scroll down)

Written by laknockers

July 4, 2010 at 7:34 pm

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey Elisa-
    Good to hear from you- I always think of you when I pass your old studio on Yucca.  
    Thanks for dragging us out of the box-
    I hope you’re doing well-still in LA and photographing?
    I just got back from Baja where I have a house next to Jennifer. She just started teaching a salsa class down there and I assisted-just like in olden days!
    Peace out
    Yana

    Yana

    July 10, 2010 at 2:46 pm

  2. Dear Yana,
    Good to hear from you!
    I  stopped photographing professional in 1990, but I’m still a journalist in the Hollywood Foreign Press.
    In 1988 I bought a house and moved out of Hollywood, I set up a studio in my converted garage.
    Please come and visit sometime.
    Love
    Elisa

    Elisa

    July 10, 2010 at 2:53 pm

  3. -I usually take ballet Sunday mornings neat there.
    I’m in Montana for a few weeks, when I get back we’ll have to get together !
    You’re a doll to do all this!
    And a fabulous photographer!
    XO
    Yana

    Sent from an alternative universe

    Yana

    July 10, 2010 at 2:55 pm

  4. Dear Marilyn:

    Thanks for the link.

    Yeah, this video IS great, and it has a lot of my photos in the end!

    love
    Elisa

    Elisa

    July 10, 2010 at 2:59 pm

  5. Elisa: 
    This blog is a terrific idea.  Thank you.
    I’m so happy that I was able to feature some of your photos in the video. You are terrific!
    xo
    Marilyn

    Marilyn

    July 10, 2010 at 3:01 pm

  6. hello hello… I was looking for you the other day and googled you and saw you were still alive and kicking and working.
    Marilyn has been wonderful editing our work and putting it out on youtube, I’m so glad she sent you a copy of her latest rendition. I do think she captured our spirit.
    I’ve never forgotten you and all the work you did on our behalf. How are things going for you these days?
    Wonderful saying hello, best regards love, jennifer

    Jennifer

    July 11, 2010 at 8:06 pm

  7. Marilyn you look sooooo pretty… I’d forgotten how lovely you were/are”-
    love, jenny

    Jennifer

    July 11, 2010 at 8:10 pm

  8. I found the video of Marilyn’s that I love, the last one she did, through our blog page and was very excited… it looked as usual great… Marilyn did a superb job… it’s right there.
    So much stuff is on the blog, if you click on highlighted words, like I found Joan’s book, Kim’s website, and Marilyn’s very special edit to Everybody Dance Now. My favorite…
    Love and kisses and  hugs and squeezes… jennifer

    Jennifer

    July 14, 2010 at 3:01 pm

  9. There are two LA Knockers who were part of the original group, and they are shown in Marilyn’s videos: Lissa Kastin, who was killed in 1977, and Denise Polk, who was a special friend of Kim Blank. I think she also died in 2004. She wasn’t with us anymore, because she’d married and moved to Walnut Creek.
    Lissa along with Yana and I were the first three performing at the Starwood. Denise joined and both she and Lissa were in the group dancing in Dick Clark’s Rock and Roll Review in Las Vegas in 1974. Denise had the privilege of flying across the stage via a wire as Superman, but it didn’t turn out to be such a privilege… it was tough!

    Jennifer

    July 18, 2010 at 1:32 pm

  10. Hi …I check out the well done performances of the La Knockers and was immediately reminded of the excellent work that Jennifer did in the early 1950’s in high school. Jennifer did a splendid job as choreographer and director of special events during our years there. Perhaps this was the beginning or at least an early start of her career. The La Knockers certainly shows her talent. The real definition of years gone by is actually “memories are made of this”

    Good job …well done,

    Bob

    Bob Simon

    November 19, 2010 at 6:02 pm

    • Hi Bob, So glad you found our blog. It’s wonderful, isn’t it!… Yes Cushing Academy was where it started, my choreography and directing of the Squaws on Stunt Night. Who would have thought. My best to all my old Cushing – ites:-) wish I could get there for a reunion… but it’s a long way. Just mailed off The Philosopher’s Daughter yesterday to my editor, enclosed were Cushing photos from years gone by… Onward and upward, and I’m hopeful. Hope you’re well and happy… best wishes, jennifer

      Jennifer Stace

      November 20, 2010 at 4:48 pm


Leave a Reply

