LA Knockers's Blog

Los Angeles dancers

Dee Dee Rescher

with 3 comments

Dee Dee

July 10, 2010

Dee Dee sent us this “little story”

My first encounter with the LA Knockers was in about 1982. I saw them in performance at the Comedy store. I was -pardon the expression-“knocked out.” They were the most amazing dancers, with huge personalities, and such grace and wit. I had never seen a more innovative dance troupe, or one with more panache. The movement -the dance- was all Jennifer’s invention. I instantly became a loyal fan.
One day I was signing up for a jazz dance class at Dupree Dance Academy when I noticed a sign up sheet next to it for a class taught by “the famed LA Knocker choreographer, Jennifer Stace.” I quickly erased my name from the jazz class list and signed up for Jennifer’s.
In my first few classes I timidly stayed in the back of the room, struggling to get this new age movement into my muscle memory. Jennifer was the best teacher–nurturing, patient and so much fun! The dancers from the troupe were always faithfully in her classes, and boy, they were good, really good. After a few weeks I worked my way up to the second to the last row, then the third, then finally one day Jennifer said, “DeeDee why don’t you try the front row for a change?” I was petrified that I wouldn’t be able to keep up, but I did; well, sort of.
Finally Jennifer asked me if I would be interested in joining the troupe. Flabbergasted, excited and scared to death, I of course said “YES!” While I was never one of the better dancers, I did have something that contributed to the group. I was a singer at the time, as well as an actress, and gave the Knockers a new dimension with the addition of a song  number for the show. I sang “Don’t Tell Mama” from “Cabaret,” and when we played clubs I would go out into the audience and sit on the guys’ laps, flirting with and teasing the customers. I danced in only 3 or 4 numbers and always struggled to keep up with the rest of the girls. Did I mention they were “really, really good?”
I stayed with the Knockers for about 5 years, and to this day that time is one of my most cherished memories. I have kept in touch with Jennifer and have visited her on her ranch in Baja many times. She is a life-long friend and I will never be able to thank her enough for the rare and amazing life opportunity with which she gifted me.

Take a look at these websites to see what DeeDee is up to these days.
deedeerescher.com
organicoriginals.org

Written by laknockers

June 27, 2010 at 2:05 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have remained in the acting business for 30 years. I am stick kicking and working!
    I am living in Long Beach, CA with hubby George of 21 years and happy and old!
    We started the Organic Originals Chili Pepper sauce business just this past year and are really flying with it.
    Just shot a local TV show last week. It’s an interview about my life in show biz.
    http://www.straighttalktv.com.

    Dee Dee

    July 11, 2010 at 2:19 am

  2. What a gift – DD’s thoughts and memories.
    We have remained good friends over the years, she comes often with hubby George, and he rolls around the floor with my dogs, we play our songs and perform for each other.
    What a great little story, she certainly deserves her own page… actually they all do:-) thanks and with love, j

    Jennifer

    July 11, 2010 at 9:07 pm

  3. excerpt from “The Philosopher’s Daughter”

    Dee Dee Rescher, another curly head with dimples, was from a theatrical family. She’d done a good deal of stage work and studied with me at Dupree’s. I invited her to join the group. Michael arrived one afternoon to record a song from “Cabaret” that she’d chosen to sing in our show…

    Jennifer

    August 14, 2010 at 2:07 pm


Leave a Reply

